New Aretha Franklin singles compilation focusing on her early Atlantic Records years due in September


A new Aretha Franklin compilation featuring highlights from the first few years of the Queen of Soul’s historic tenure with the Atlantic Records label will be released on September 28. The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967-1970 will be available as a two-CD set and digital download featuring 34 tracks, and as a two-LP vinyl package containing an abbreviated 25-song track list.

The album, which arranges tracks chronologically, features many of Franklin’s most enduring tunes, including her chart-topping cover of Otis Redding‘s “Respect” and the top 10 hits “Think,” “Chain of Fools,” “(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman,” “I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You),” “I Say a Little Prayer,” “Baby I Love You,” “(Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You’ve Been Gone” and “The House That Jack Built.”

The Atlantic Singles Collection also boasts such #1 Billboard R&B chart singles as “Share Your Love With Me,” “Call Me” and “Don’t Play That Song.” In addition, the compilation features some of Aretha’s interesting interpretations of hits by other artists, including renditions of The Band‘s “The Weight,” The Miracles‘ “Tracks of My Tears,” Sam Cooke‘s “You Send Me,” Glen Campbell‘s “Gentle on My Mind,” The Beatles‘ “Eleanor Rigby” and “Let It Be,” Dusty Springfield‘s “Son of a Preacher Man” and Elton John‘s “Border Song.”

Here is the track list for the two-CD versions of The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967-1970:

Disc One
“I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You)”*
“Do Right Woman, Do Right Man”*
“Dr. Feelgood”
“Baby I Love You”*
“Going Down Slow”
“A Natural Woman (You Make Me Feel Like)”*
“Baby, Baby, Baby”
“Chain of Fools”*
“Prove It”
“(Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You’ve Been Gone”*
“Ain’t No Way”*
“You Send Me”*
“The House That Jack Built”*
“I Say a Little Prayer”*
“See Saw”*
“My Song”*

Disc Two
“The Weight”*
“Tracks of My Tears”*
“I Can’t See Myself Leaving You”*
“Gentle on My Mind”*
“Share Your Love with Me”*
“Pledging My Love/The Clock”
“Eleanor Rigby”*
“It Ain’t Fair”
“Call Me”*
“Son of a Preacher Man”*
“Spirit in the Dark” — with The Dixie Flyers*
“The Thrill Is Gone” — with The Dixie Flyers
“Don’t Play That Song” — with The Dixie Flyers*
“Let It Be” — with The Dixie Flyers
“Border Song (Holy Moses)”*
“You and Me” — with The Dixie Flyers

* = also appears on the two-LP vinyl version.

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.