Howells Hoosiers win 3rd Farmland Basketball Championship

Howells Hoosiers win 3rd Farmland Basketball Championship

HOWELLS – The Howells Hoosiers have proved to be a dominate force in the Farmland Basketball League, after winning their 3rd Championship on Sunday.

The Hoosiers faced off with the West Point Cowtippers, where a 22-point first half lead by the Hoosiers would prove to be too much for the Cowtippers to overcome. Howells went into halftime with a 47-25 lead, and even after a late second quarter charge by West Point, they would eventually hold on to win the game 78-59.

West Point finished 2nd in the league after coming into tournament play as the bottom seed.

The Hoosiers were led by Farmland rookie Luke Hegemann who put together a 23 point performance.

“It’s a lot of fun playing with all the guys from back home, my first year so it was just fun to come back and play with them, and get the championship the first year back,” says Hegemann.

Farmland veteran Justin Sindelar scored 15 for the Hoosiers and was named to the All-Farmland Team, alongside 4-time MVP Brian Ruzek of Dodge (including 2017), 2016 MVP Kale Wietfeld of North Bend, Bryan Mendlick of Wisner, and Shane Carrender of Pender.

The Hoosiers have won the league in 2012 and 2015 and won this season with an undefeated 9-0 record. This was Howells sixth strait trip to the Championship.

Howells Hoosiers              47  31  78
West Point Cowtippers     25  34   59

Point Totals

HH: Luke Hegemann 23, Justin Sindelar 15, Tyler Brester 8, Sam Shlautman 6, Brady Brester 6, Andrew Faltys 6, Bryon Janata 5, Mike Bayer 4, Scott Engel 3, Tyler Schwartz 2

WPC: Pat Knievel 8,  Matt Lueshen 9, Derek Wegner 3, Micah Fullner 4, Jeremy Yosten 15, Derek Aschoff 4, Jake Hohenthaner 2, Calvin Thor 5, Nate Bruning 6, Andrew Wiechman 2

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.